S.C. Sea Grant Consortium

News Story

SCDNR Director Taylor Elected Board Chair of S.C. Sea Grant Consortium

Jan 9, 2015

Col. Alvin A Taylor, SCDNRCharleston, S.C.— Col. Alvin A. Taylor, director of S.C. Department of Natural Resources, has been elected chair of S.C. Sea Grant Consortium’s Board of Directors. Taylor began his one-year term on January 1, 2015.  “I look forward to my term as chairman of the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium,” said Taylor. “The Consortium’s work is important to our state, and it is a pleasure to work with such an impressive board and outstanding staff.”

Taylor serves as the chief administrator for natural resources in the state with a staff of over 900 in numerous locations across South Carolina. He graduated from Clemson University in 1976 with a B.S. in zoology. He completed training at the U.S. Coast Guard Law Enforcement Training Center in Yorktown, Va., in 1976 and graduated from the S.C. Criminal Justice Academy in 1977.

“I very much look forward to working with Col. Taylor this coming year as chair of the Consortium’s Board of Directors,” said Rick DeVoe, executive director of the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium. “His leadership and many years of experience working on natural resource and economic development issues in the state will be invaluable to the Consortium’s work in meeting the information needs of our diverse constituencies.”

The Consortium’s Board of Directors is composed of the chief executive officers of its member institutions. Currently serving on the board are: Col. Alvin A. Taylor, board chair and executive director of S.C. Department of Natural Resources; Dr. David A. DeCenzo, president of Coastal Carolina University; Dr. James B. Clements, president of Clemson University; Glenn F. McConnell, president of College of Charleston; Dr. David J. Cole, president of Medical University of South Carolina; Thomas J. Elzey, president of S.C. State University; Lt. General John W. Rosa, president of The Citadel; and Dr. Harris Pastides, president of University of South Carolina.