Select Page

S.C. State University President Clark Re-Elected Board Chair of S.C. Sea Grant Consortium

Feb 16, 2021 | News

South Carolina State University South Carolina State University (SCSU) President James E. Clark has been re-elected chair of S.C. Sea Grant Consortium’s Board of Directors. Clark began his one-year term on January 1, 2021.

“I am pleased to serve once again as the chairman of the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium board to support the conservation of South Carolina’s coastal resources and our efforts to create a sustainable economy and environment,” Clark said. “I offer my full support to Executive Director Dr. Susan Lovelace to further the Consortium’s mission of administering the Sea Grant program to, and furthering collaborations in, our state and region.”

Clark, who became SCSU president in July 2016, earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and computer science and a master’s degree in management/marketing, both from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has worked for business giants General Electric, Gillette, Exxon International and AT&T. His experience at Fortune 500 companies shaped his belief that a data-driven, results-oriented business approach launches and drives positive outcomes.

“I appreciate Chairman Clark’s commitment to assisting our agency in development and leadership,” said Executive Director Susan Lovelace, Ph.D. “I am grateful for his continued perspective about how we can increase our agency’s effectiveness with all of our stakeholders. I look forward to continuing to engage with the Consortium’s Board of Directors and with Chairman Clark.”

The Consortium’s Board of Directors is composed of the chief executive officers of its member institutions. In addition to Mr. James E. Clark, current board members are Dr. James B. Clements, president of Clemson University; Dr. Michael T. Benson, president of Coastal Carolina University; Dr. Andrew T. Hsu, president of College of Charleston; Dr. David J. Cole, president of Medical University of South Carolina; Mr. Robert H. Boyles, Jr., director of S.C. Department of Natural Resources; General Glenn M. Walters, president of The Citadel; and Dr. Harris Pastides, president emeritus of University of South Carolina.