S.C. Sea Grant Consortium

News Story

Clemson Provost Robert Jones Re-Elected S.C. Sea Grant Board Chair, SCDNR Director Robert Boyles, Jr. Re-Elected Vice-Chair

Feb 13, 2023

Provost Robert H. Jones, Clemson University

Clemson University Provost Dr. Robert H. Jones was re-elected chair of S.C. Sea Grant Consortium’s Board of Directors and S.C. Department of Natural Resources Director Robert H. Boyles, Jr. was re-elected vice-chair by unanimous votes on November 3, 2022. Both one-year terms began on January 1, 2023.

“I am honored to continue to serve as chairman of the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium,” Jones said. “It is a pleasure to work with such an impressive board and outstanding staff, and to build on the Consortium’s successful record of achievement.”

Jones earned a B.S. in forest management in 1979 and an M.S. in forestry in 1981, both from Clemson University. He completed a Ph.D. in forest ecology from the State University of New York’s College of Environmental Science and Forestry in 1986. Before returning to Clemson, Jones served as dean of the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences at West Virginia University and as department head and professor of biological sciences at Virginia Tech.

Director Robert H. Boyles, Jr., SCDNR

“The Consortium’s research, education and outreach programs are deeply important to our state, and I look forward to continuing to support them in this capacity,” said Vice-Chairman Boyles.

Boyles earned a B.S. in mathematical economics from Wake Forest University and an M.S. in marine policy from the University of Delaware. He was a Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy fellow for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Coastal Ocean Program, as well as a Bradley fellow in Marine Policy at the Duke University Marine Laboratory. Boyles then worked for the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium as assistant to the director for programs before joining SCDNR, where he went on to serve as deputy director for marine resources from 2003-2019.

The Consortium’s Board of Directors is composed of the executive officers of its member institutions. Currently serving on the board in addition to Dr. Jones and Mr. Boyles are: Dr. James B. Clements, president of Clemson University; Dr. Michael T. Benson, president of Coastal Carolina University; Dr. Andrew T. Hsu, president of College of Charleston; Dr. Luther F. Carter, president of Francis Marion University; Dr. David J. Cole, president of Medical University of South Carolina; Colonel Alexander Conyers, president of South Carolina State University; General Glenn M. Walters, president of The Citadel; and Dr. Michael Amiridis, president of University of South Carolina.