S.C. Sea Grant Consortium
Volunteers in front of marsh.
BSRS-Logo

Beach Sweep/River Sweep Cleanup Sites

To join a group, find your local area below and contact the Site Captain listed.

If you want to clean an area that is not listed below, please contact Susan Ferris Hill at (843) 953-2092 or Susan.Ferris.Hill@scseagrant.org.

Sites listed North to South along the coast.

Cherry Grove Beach

Cherry Grove Beach   View Map
Meet at Boulineau’s
Robin Pendergraft
robinp@boulineaus.com

North Myrtle Beach

North Myrtle Beach and Cherry Grove marsh   View Map
Megan Petit and Jim Grainger
(843) 281-3732
mspetit@nmb.us

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach Travel Park   View Map
Sydney Bell
(843) 848-6633
sbell@mbtravelpark.com

Myrtle Beach State Park   View Map
Ann Malys Wilson
(843) 238-0874
awilson@scprt.com

67th Ave. N to 82nd Ave. N   View Map
Mike Williams
(843) 477-2016
Michael.Williams@hgtc.edu

40th Ave. N. to 67th Ave. N.   View Map
Shari Carr
sharoncarr@sccoast.net

30th Ave. N. to 40th Ave. N.   View Map
Pat Pierce
sciencelady@earthlink.net

Ocean Boulevard between 9th Ave. N. and 12th Ave. N.
View Map

Carolyn Ritchie
(843) 916-0888 ext. 3233
ritchie@ripleys.com

Myrtle Beach Boardwalk   View Map
Lenore Landrum
(843) 267-4393
luxeresortbeachservices@outlook.com

8th Ave. N. to 2nd Ave. N.   View Map
Amanda Sturgeon
(843) 267-4511
amanda.sturgeon@gmail.com

Surfside Beach

Surfside Beach   View Map
Ellen Delaplane
(410) 402-3401
keepsurfsidebeachbeautiful@gmail.com

Georgetown County

Huntington Beach State Park   View Map
John Belanger
(843) 235-8755
jbelanger@scprt.com

Pawley’s Island beach, creek, marsh, and boat landings
View Map

Frank Johnson
(843) 340-1717
fjohnson@wbtw.com

DeBordieu Colony   View Map
Blanche Brown
(843) 527-4436
bbrown@debordieucolony.org

City of Georgetown Harborwalk area   View Map
Laurie Cipolla
(843) 545-4100
lcipolla@georgetownsc.gov

McClellanville

Jeremy Creek   View Map
Allie Kreutzer
akreutzer@creecs.org

Dorchester County

Herbert H. Jessen Landing    View Map
Tyler Roper
(803) 546-6686
tyler.r.roper@gmail.com

Berkeley County

30 Boat Landings in Berkeley County   View Map
Sarah McCarthy Smith
(843) 719-2383
sarah.smith@berkeleycountysc.gov

Old Santee Canal Park   View Map
Adam Bedard
(843) 899-5200 ext. 5589
adam.bedard@santeecooper.com

Isle of Palms

Isle of Palms Beach
Stacey Streetman-Johnson
(843) 327-5831
staceysusanne@yahoo.com

Sullivan’s Island

Sullivan’s Island   View Map
Walt Young and Rebekah Claussen
(843) 732-5020
walter_young@nps.gov
rebekah_claussen@nps.gov
NPS Volunteer Service Form

 

Mt. Pleasant

Land-based cleanup on the Vickery’s side of Shem Creek, Mt. Pleasant dock/ boardwalk area   View Map
Claire O’Loughlin and Cody Robinette
(843) 856-2157 ext. 3258 (Claire)
(843) 856-2157 ext. 8883 (Cody)
coloughlin@tompsc.com
crobinette@tompsc.com

Water-based cleanup on Shem Creek   View Map
Nature Adventures
Elizabeth Anderegg
(843) 568-3222
info@natureadventureschs.com

Ben Sawyer Causeway   View Map
Meet at Toler’s Cove
Brian Head
(843) 884-9626
brianhead@mpwonline.com

Daniel Island

Cleanup starts at 3:00 p.m. Meet at Waterfront Park.
Daniel Island
  View Map
Andrea True Kelly
(919) 943-5023
atkgeneral@gmail.com

Charleston-Area Creeks, Rivers, and Marshes

Bulls Bay Area/Awendaw – Moores boat landing to Buck Hall boat landing  View Map
Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com

Waterfront Park   View Map
Cleanup starts at 10:30 a.m.
Edward Evans
(843) 696-7923
elevans3@comcast.net

Wagener Terrace/Halsey Creek  View Map
Blake Scott
scottbc@cofc.edu

Cooper River County Park & Marina  View Map
Cheryl Carmack
(843) 501-9034
cheryl@charlestonwaterkeeper.org

Brittlebank Park  View Map
Richard Moss
rmoss3591@gmail.com

Marsh area just south of Ashley River bridge on HWY 17S  View Map
Pam Ferguson
(843) 437-7513
epidemiologydoc@hotmail.com

Marsh area under Harborview Rd. exit, James Island  View Map
Cleanup date Sept. 15 from 1:30-3:30 p.m.
Hunter Stewart
(513) 262-6728
StewartWH@bv.com

Fort Lamar Heritage Preserve, James Island  View Map
Drew Deardorff
(717) 324-6856
drew.deardorff@alcaminow.com

Marsh area at SCDNR Fort Johnson Campus  View Map
Cleanup starts at 10:30 a.m.
Register
Olivia Bueno
buenoo@dnr.sc.gov

West Ashley Greenway (Johns Island side)  View Map
Nicole Marie Pettinelli
colbertnicole@yahoo.com

Sylvan Shores neighborhood, Stono River and marsh  View Map
Rick Johnson
johnsonrl@hotmail.com

Upper Wando River, Horlbeck Creek north to Paradise boat landing
View Map

Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com

Kiawah Island

Meet at Mingo Point   View Map
Bradley Schmoll
(843) 819-1071
bradley@saltmarshkids.org

Meet at The Sandcastle   View Map
Kelly Thorvalson
(843) 579-8535kthorvalson@scaquarium.org

St. Helena Island

Lands End   View Map
Honey Wilson
(803) 422-0764
honeywilson64@gmail.com

Harbor Island

Harbor Island   View Map
Gloria and Charlie Mickle
(615) 414-6100 (Gloria)
gamickle90@gmail.com
(615) 268-3167 (Charlie)
cemickle@gmail.com

Beaufort

Broad River Boat Landing and Causeway marsh  View Map
Cleanup starts at 1:00 p.m.
Buddy Coleman
lrcolemanjr@hotmail.com

Bluffton

May River at Oyster Factory Park   View Map
Nicole Wright
(843) 706-4569
nwright@townofbluffton.com

Hilton Head Island

Fish Haul Creek Beach Park and Mitchelville Park – Meet at Fish Haul Creek Beach Park   View Map
Cleanup starts at 9:00 a.m.
Kathy Weatherhead
(843) 290-7450
nkweatherhead@yahoo.com

Driessen Beach Park   View Map
Jen Westerfeld
jwesterfeld77@gmail.com

Sea Pines Beach  View Map
Cleanup date Sept. 15 at 2:00 p.m.
$9 cash gate fee for non-residents

Sharon McDonnell
(843) 842-1959
smcdonnell@seapines.com

Fripp Island

Fripp Island  View Map
Kelsey Oehler
(843) 838-1516
koehler@frippislandresort.com

Daufuskie Island

Daufuskie Island   View Map
Karen Rafferty
(516) 547-1905
karenrafferty@mac.com

Don’t see your area?

Find out how to lead a cleanup!