Select Page
Volunteers in front of marsh.

The 2020 Beach Sweep/River Sweep has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Beach Sweep/River Sweep Cleanup Sites

To join a group, find your local team below and contact the Site Captain listed.

If you want to clean an area that’s NOT LISTED BELOW, please contact Susan Ferris Hill at (843) 953-2092 or Susan.Ferris.Hill@scseagrant.org.

Sites listed North to South along the coast.

Cherry Grove Beach

Cherry Grove Beach   View Map
Anna Bowers
(843) 663-6943
annab@boulineaus.com

North Myrtle Beach

North Myrtle Beach and Cherry Grove marsh   View Map
Gregg Barnhill
(843) 280-5673
dgbarnhill@nmb.us

Wyndham Ocean Boulevard beachfront   View Map
410 S. Ocean Blvd.
Heather Merritt
(843) 281-3318
Heather.Merritt2@wyn.com

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach Travel Park   View Map
Taylor Cook
(843) 449-2733
TCook@mbtravelpark.com

Myrtle Beach State Park   View Map
Ann Malys Wilson
(843) 238-0874
awilson@scprt.com

Camelot By the Sea beachfront   View Map
Sarah Summers
(843) 445-5936
sarah.summers@wynvr.com

Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation beachfront   View Map
Tomasina Delile
(843) 692-9311
tomasina.delile@wyn.com

67th Ave. N. to 82nd Ave. N.   View Map
Mike Williams
Michael.Williams@hgtc.edu

40th Ave. N. to 67th Ave. N.   View Map
Shari Carr
(843) 222-6998
sharoncarr@sccoast.net

30th Ave. N. to 40th Ave. N.   View Map
Pat Pierce
sciencelady@earthlink.net

Ocean Boulevard between 9th Ave. N. and 12th Ave. N.
View Map

Jera Wunder
(843) 916-0888 ext. 3233
jwunder@ripleys.com

8th Ave. N. to 2nd Ave. N.   View Map
Amanda Sturgeon
(843) 267-4511
amanda.sturgeon@gmail.com

Waccamaw River – Waccamaw Nat’l. Wildlife Refuge, Sandy Island

Waccamaw River   View Map
Cleanup date Sept. 28
Chris and Jane Ochsenbein
(843) 503-3276
gatorbaitadventuretours@outlook.com

Surfside Beach

Surfside Beach   View Map
Debbie Ellis
(843) 650-9548
dellis@surfsidebeach.org

Georgetown County

Huntington Beach State Park   View Map
Mike Walker
(843) 235-8755
mwalker@scprt.com

Pawley’s Island beach, creek, marsh, and boat landings
View Map

Frank Johnson
(843) 340-1717
fjohnson@wbtw.com

DeBordieu Colony   View Map
Blanche Brown
(843) 527-4436
bbrown@debordieucolony.org

Sampit River, City of Georgetown – Cleanup date Sept. 14
Morgan Park to Stewart Parker house   View Map
Cindy Thompson
(843) 545-4100
CThompson@cogsc.com

McClellanville

Jeremy Creek   View Map
Allie Kreutzer
akreutzer@creecs.org

Berkeley County

Various boat landings on Lake Moultrie – Meet at Overton Park
View Map

Sarah McCarthy-Smith
(843) 719-2383
sarah.smith@berkeleycountysc.gov

Old Santee Canal Park   View Map
Adam Bedard
(843) 899-5200 ext. 5589
adam.bedard@santeecooper.com

Daniel Island shoreline   View Map
Andrea Kelly
(919) 943-5023
atkgeneral@gmail.com

Dorchester County

Givhans Ferry State Park, Mars Oldfield boat landing, and Colleton State Park
View Map

Dave Are
david.c.are.ctr@mail.mil

North Charleston

Cooper River Marina – Start time is 10:00 a.m.   View Map
Tina Ujcich
(843) 762-8053
tujcich@ccprc.com

Isle of Palms

Isle of Palms   View Map
Stacey Johnson
(843) 327-5831
staceysusanne@yahoo.com

Isle of Palms County Park – Start time is 10:00 a.m.
View Map
Allyssa Zebrowski
(804) 731-7873
azebrowski@ccprc.com

Sullivan’s Island

Sullivan’s Island   View Map
Thomas Sobol
thomas_sobol@nps.gov
Volunteers must register at https://www.nps.gov/fosu/getinvolved/beach-sweep-2019.htm

Mt. Pleasant

Land-based cleanup on the Vickery’s side of Shem Creek, Mt. Pleasant dock/ boardwalk area   View Map
Hillary Repik
(843) 856-2157
hrepik@tompsc.com

Water-based cleanup on Shem Creek   View Map
Nature Adventures
Elizabeth Anderegg
(843) 568-3222
mgt@natureadventureschs.com

Charleston

Waterfront Park   View Map
Edward Evans
(843) 696-7923
elevans3@comcast.net

Brittlebank Park   View Map
Sara Russell
(843) 276-6612
russellsg@g.cofc.edu

Charleston-area Creeks, Rivers, and Marshes

Vardell Creek, downtown Charleston   View Map
Cheryl Carmack
(843) 501-9034
cheryl@charlestonwaterkeeper.org

Marsh area just south of Ashley River bridge on HWY 17S
View Map

Pam Ferguson
(843) 437-7513
epidemiologydoc@hotmail.com
Jamie Gillette
(843) 579-7501  
GilletteJ@charleston-sc.gov

Marsh area under Harborview Rd. exit, James Island 
View Map

Jason Thompson
(843) 714-3945
ThompsonJM@CharlestonCPW.com
OR
Jane Byrne
(843) 819-8890
ByrneJF@CharlestonCPW.com

Stono River – Water-based cleanup, volunteers need their own boats   View Map
Laney Gibbes
(843) 300-8514
laneygibbes@gmail.com

Stono River, Limehouse Bridge   View Map
Annie Burris
anniebea249@aol.com

Charles Towne Landing   View Map
Maria Bartholf
(843) 852-4200
mbartholf@scprt.com

Upper Wando River, Horlbeck Creek north to Paradise boat landing   View Map
Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com

Morris Island

Morris Island   View Map
Olivia Bueno
(843) 953-9809
buenoO@dnr.sc.gov

Folly Island/Folly Beach

Folly Island – Start time is 8:00 a.m.   View Map
E.V. Bell
(843) 953-2085
elizabeth.bell@scseagrant.org

Kiawah Island

Kiawah Island   View Map
Bradley Schmoll
(843) 819-1071
bradley_schmoll@kiawahresort.com

Edisto Island

Edisto Island   View Map
Kelly Moore
(843) 603-0009
kmoore@townofedistobeach.com

St. Helena Island

Lands End   View Map
Honey Wilson
(803) 422-0764
honeywilson64@gmail.com

Harbor Island

Harbor Island   View Map
Gloria and Charlie Mickle
(615) 414-6100 (Gloria)
gamickle90@gmail.com
(615) 268-3167 (Charlie)
cemickle@gmail.com

Hunting Island

Hunting Island   View Map
Tim Moore
(571) 332-6068
tim_moore001@comcast.net

Fripp Island

Fripp Island   View Map
Hannah Ballentine
(843) 838-1516
hannahb@frippislandresort.com

Bluffton

May River at Oyster Factory Park   View Map
Beth Lewis
(843) 706-4559
blewis@townofbluffton.com

Hilton Head Island

Fish Haul Creek Beach Park and Mitchelville Park – Meet at Fish Haul Creek Beach Park   View Map
Kathy Weatherhead
(843) 290-7450
nkweatherhead@yahoo.com

Port Royal Plantation   View Map
Roscoe Smith
roscoe@verusmed.com

Folly Field Beach   View Map
Jennifer Wells
(843) 715-1025
islandgirl29926@ymail.com

Daufuskie Island

Daufuskie Island   View Map
Eileen Pojednic
eileenpojednic@gmail.com

Don’t see your area?

Find out how to lead a cleanup!