Select Page
Volunteers in front of marsh.

Beach Sweep/River Sweep Cleanup Sites

To join a group, find your local area below and contact the Site Captain listed.

If you want to clean an area that is not listed below, please contact Susan Ferris Hill at (843) 953-2092 or Susan.Ferris.Hill@scseagrant.org.

Sites listed North to South along the coast.

Cherry Grove Beach

Cherry Grove Beach   View Map
Anna Bowers
(843) 663-6943
annab@boulineaus.com

North Myrtle Beach

North Myrtle Beach and Cherry Grove marsh   View Map
Gregg Barnhill
(843) 280-5673
dgbarnhill@nmb.us

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach Travel Park   View Map
Taylor DiVirgilis
(843) 449-2733
tdivirgilis@mbtravelpark.com

Myrtle Beach State Park   View Map
Ann Malys Wilson
(843) 238-0874
awilson@scprt.com

40th Ave. N. to 67th Ave. N.   View Map
Shari Carr
(843) 222-6998
sharoncarr@sccoast.net

30th Ave. N. to 40th Ave. N.   View Map
Pat Pierce
sciencelady@earthlink.net

Ocean Boulevard between 9th Ave. N. and 12th Ave. N.
View Map

Jera Wunder
(843) 916-0888 ext. 3233
jwunder@ripleys.com

8th Ave. N. to 2nd Ave. N.   View Map
Amanda Sturgeon
(843) 267-4511
amanda.sturgeon@gmail.com

Waccamaw River – J. Todd Landing

Waccamaw River   View Map
Chris and Jane Ochsenbein
(843) 503-3276
gatorbaitadventuretours@outlook.com

Surfside Beach

Surfside Beach   View Map
Ellen Delaplane
keepsurfsidebeachbeautiful@gmail.com

Georgetown County

Huntington Beach State Park   View Map
Bryan Shealy
(843) 235-8755
bshealy@scprt.com

Pawley’s Island beach, creek, marsh, and boat landings
View Map

Frank Johnson
(843) 340-1717
fjohnson@wbtw.com

DeBordieu Colony   View Map
Blanche Brown
(843) 527-4436
bbrown@debordieucolony.org

McClellanville

Jeremy Creek   View Map
Cleanup date Sept. 25

Allie Kreutzer
akreutzer@creecs.org

Berkeley County

Various boat landings on Lake Moultrie – Meet at Overton Park
View Map

Sarah McCarthy-Smith
(843) 719-2383
sarah.smith@berkeleycountysc.gov

Old Santee Canal Park   View Map
Adam Bedard
(843) 899-5200 ext. 5589
adam.bedard@santeecooper.com

Goose Creek Reservoir  View Map
Sloane Chinners
(843) 312-3619
sloanechinners@gmail.com

Daniel Island shoreline   View Map
Andrea Kelly
(919) 943-5023
atkgeneral@gmail.com

Dorchester County

Givhans Ferry State Park, Mars Oldfield boat landing, and Colleton State Park
View Map

Dave Are
dare@refinster.com

Isle of Palms

Isle of Palms   View Map
Stacey Johnson
(843) 327-5831
staceysusanne@yahoo.com

Sullivan’s Island

Sullivan’s Island   View Map
Thomas Sobol
thomas_sobol@nps.gov
Volunteers must register at https://www.nps.gov/fosu/getinvolved/beach-sweep-2021.htm

Mt. Pleasant

Land-based cleanup along Ben Sawyer Blvd Causeway
View Map
Brian Head
(843) 388-1109
mpwbeachsweep@mpwonline.com

Land-based cleanup on the Vickery’s side of Shem Creek, Mt. Pleasant dock/ boardwalk area   View Map
Hillary Repik
(843) 856-2157 ext. 3591
hrepik@tompsc.com

Water-based cleanup on Shem Creek   View Map
Nature Adventures
Elizabeth Anderegg
(843) 568-3222
mgt@natureadventureschs.com

Charleston

South Carolina Aquarium (Aquarium Wharf)  View Map
Kelly Thorvalson
(843) 579-8535
kthorvalson@scaquarium.org

Waterfront Park   View Map
Edward Evans
(843) 696-7923
elevans3@comcast.net

Brittlebank Park   View Map
Danielle Lopez
(843) 723-4617
danielle@charlestonuu.org

Wagener Terrace/Halsey Creek  View Map
Blake Scott
scottbc@cofc.edu

Charleston-Area Creeks, Rivers, and Marshes

Bulls Bay Area/Awendaw – Moores boat landing to Buck Hall boat landing View Map
Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com

Vardell Creek, downtown Charleston   View Map
Cheryl Carmack
(843) 501-9034
cheryl@charlestonwaterkeeper.org

Gadsen Creek, downtown Charleston View Map
Merrie Koester
merriekoester@gmail.com

Marsh area just south of Ashley River bridge on HWY 17S (This location is full)
View Map

Pam Ferguson
(843) 437-7513
epidemiologydoc@hotmail.com

Marsh area at SCDNR Fort Johnson Campus View Map
Must RSVP to attend
Olivia Bueno
buenoo@dnr.sc.gov

Marsh area under Harborview Rd. exit, James Island
View Map

Cleanup date Sept. 17
Jason Thompson
(843) 714-3945
ThompsonJM@CharlestonCPW.com
OR
Jane Byrne
(843) 819-8890
ByrneJF@CharlestonCPW.com

Stono River – Water-based cleanup, volunteers need their own boats   View Map
October cleanup date TBD
Laney Gibbes
(843) 300-8514
laneygibbes@gmail.com

Stono River, Limehouse Bridge   View Map
October cleanup date TBD
Annie Burris
anniebea249@aol.com

Charles Towne Landing   View Map
Cleanup Date Oct. 2
Maria Campbell
(843) 852-4200
mcampbell@scprt.com

Upper Wando River, Horlbeck Creek north to Paradise boat landing
View Map

Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com

Folly Island/Folly Beach

Folly Island – Start time is 10:00 a.m.  View Map
E.V. Bell
elizabeth.bell@scseagrant.org
Sign Up to Volunteer

Kiawah Island

Kiawah Island   View Map
Bradley Schmoll
(843) 819-1071
bradley_schmoll@kiawahresort.com

Edisto Island

Edisto Island   View Map
Beach cleanup date Sept. 18
Creek cleanup date Sept. 25
Kelly Moore
(843) 603-0009
kmoore@townofedistobeach.com

St. Helena Island

Lands End   View Map
Honey Wilson
(803) 422-0764
honeywilson64@gmail.com

Harbor Island

Harbor Island   View Map
Cleanup date Oct. 2
Gloria and Charlie Mickle
(615) 414-6100 (Gloria)
gamickle90@gmail.com
(615) 268-3167 (Charlie)
cemickle@gmail.com

Fripp Island

Fripp Island   View Map
Hannah Ballentine
(843) 838-1516
hannahb@frippislandresort.com

Bluffton

May River at Oyster Factory Park   View Map
Beth Lewis
(843) 706-4559
blewis@townofbluffton.com

Hilton Head Island

Fish Haul Creek Beach Park and Mitchelville Park – Meet at Fish Haul Creek Beach Park   View Map
Kathy Weatherhead
(843) 290-7450
nkweatherhead@yahoo.com

Driessen Beach Park   View Map
Jen Westerfeld
jwesterfeld77@gmail.com

Sea Pines Beach  View Map
Mallory Munson
(623) 238-0064
mmunson@seapines.com

Daufuskie Island

Daufuskie Island   View Map
Eileen Pojednic
eileenpojednic@gmail.com

Don’t see your area?

Find out how to lead a cleanup!