Select Page
Ocean waves at sunrise.

About the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium

The S.C. Sea Grant Consortium was created in 1978 as an independent state agency through Act No. 643 of South Carolina’s Code of Laws.

The Consortium is a member of a nationwide network of 34 Sea Grant College Programs that are certified by the National Sea Grant College Program , which is located within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration , U.S. Department of Commerce. The Consortium is charged with managing and administering the Sea Grant program for the State of South Carolina and regionally.

Our Mission

The S.C. Sea Grant Consortium supports integrated research, education, and extension programs that align with our mission of generating and applying science-based information on issues and opportunities to enhance the practical use and conservation of coastal and marine resources to foster a sustainable economy and environment.

Member Institutions

The Consortium member institutions are Clemson University, Coastal Carolina University, College of Charleston, Medical University of South Carolina, S.C. Department of Natural Resources, S.C. State University, The Citadel, and University of South Carolina.

Our member institutions serve as our partners in research and outreach, and the chief executive officer of each institution serves on our board of directors.

South Atlantic Sea Grant Region

As part of the South Atlantic Sea Grant Region, the Consortium partners with North Carolina Sea Grant, Georgia Sea Grant, Florida Sea Grant, and Puerto Rico Sea Grant to implement regional research and outreach programs.