SCNEMO home South Carolina Nonpoint Education for Municipal Officials banner
 Pee Dee Watershed homefeedbacksitemap  
home Watershed Description  
about SCNEMO
national nemo
what's new

Pee Dee

The Pee Dee River Basin (also referred to as the Great Pee Dee River) encompasses 27 watersheds and 3,425 square miles within South Carolina, excluding the Lynches River and Black River Basins. The Pee Dee River flows across the Sandhills region to the Upper and Lower Coastal Plain regions and into the Coastal Zone region. Of the approximately two million acres, 36.0% is forested land, 23.0% is agricultural land, 19.6% is scrub/shrub land, 16.5% is forested wetland (swamp), 2.5% is urban land, 1.3% is water, 1.0% is nonforested wetland (marsh), and 0.2% is barren land. The urban land percentage is comprised chiefly of the Cities of Florence, Darlington, Bennettsville, and Dillon. In the Pee Dee River Basin, there are approximately 3,472 stream miles, 9,969 acres of lake waters, and 1,522 acres of estuarine areas. The Pee Dee River flows across the North Carolina/South Carolina state line and accepts drainage from Thompson Creek, Crooked Creek, Cedar Creek, Three Creeks, and Black Creek. The Pee Dee River then accepts drainage from Jeffries Creek, Catfish Creek, the Lynches River, the Little Pee Dee River and the Black River Basin before draining into Winyah Bay.*


*Information adapted from the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (S.C. DHEC) website.

back to top

home  |  about scnemo   watersheds   resources  |  partners  |  publications
national nemo
  |  what's new  |  contacts  |  links  |  feedback  |  sitemap

Copyright © 2005 South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium, Privacy and Accessibility Statements
This page updated on: