ContactSite MapSearchNews
Inside Sea GrantResearchExtensionEducationFundingProductsEvents

SC Sea Grant Consortium
287 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
p: 843.953.2078
f: 843.953.2080
Beach Sweep / River Sweep
 
 

Beach Sweep/River Sweep logobsrs logo

Thanks, volunteers, for making the 2017
Beach Sweep/River Sweep a success!
Please join us for the 30th annual cleanup on
Saturday, September 15, 2018!

New t-shirt design for 2017 – order yours today!

Connect with us on Facebook. Facebook icon

See the SCDNR River Sweep Web site for more information on inland cleanups and results.

Beach Sweep/River Sweep is South Carolina's largest one-day volunteer cleanup event of its kind. Every 3rd Saturday in September, from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m., thousands of South Carolinians clear beaches, rivers, lakes, marshes, and swamps of aquatic debris. The cleanup, organized by the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium and S.C. Department of Natural Resources, has taken place annually since 1988 - when Sea Grant first started it. The Sweep takes place in conjunction with the International Coastal Cleanup, coordinated by the Ocean Conservancy. Once the Sweep is over, the Ocean Conservancy tallies all of the debris data. This data helps us learn the sources of litter so we can stop pollution before it starts.


Why pick up trash?

There's always going to be garbage, right? What difference does it make?

Aquatic debris is dangerous. Seeing the effects of it first-hand, by participating in the cleanup, can demonstrate that. Litter is a danger to our wildlife, our safety, and our economy.

South Carolina is lucky to have such a vast amount of wonderful aquatic resources. We are home to a diverse wildlife population. Our state's economy thrives on the tourism industry. However, if we don't care for our natural resources, they simply won't be there. Can you imagine a future in which your children or grandchildren won't be able to enjoy our beaches? Won't fish? Or boat? If we don't address the consequences of our throwaway, disposable lifestyle now, these grim possibilities could become our reality, experts tell us. Don't let it happen!


Sponsorship opportunities

It's never too early to get involved! The cleanup depends solely upon the generosity of its sponsors. The Sweep would not take place without contributions, whether in-kind or monetary. Major sponsors for the 2017 event include: BP Cooper River Plant, Budget Dumpster, Coastal Expeditions, Nature Adventures Outfitters, Ocean Conservancy, The Charleston City Marina and Boatyard, and Walmart Market #34. If you or your organization would like to sponsor this vital program, please contact Susan Ferris Hill, for details. Contributions to Beach Sweep/River Sweep may be tax-deductible. Thank you for your support!


Want to be a site captain?

Perhaps you know of an area that needs attention. Why not coordinate a cleanup for that site? Check the list of sites cleaned below, and remember that not all of the site may have received attention. If your place is not listed, we could use your help. It's not hard; we have site captains who have been with us since the very first cleanup! We provide all the supplies you need, detailed instructions and information, volunteers, publicity, and a free Beach Sweep/River Sweep t-shirt. Contact Beach Sweep, to learn how. There is no better feeling than knowing you've made a difference where it counts.

Have other ideas about how to help? Want more information?
E-mail Beach Sweep or call (843) 953-2078.


2017 site captains
If you know the area you'd like to clean, contact the site captain below and join their group! If you want to clean an area that's NOT LISTED BELOW, please call or email Susan Ferris Hill at (843) 953-2092. Thank you

North Myrtle Beach – Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 7
Gregg Barnhill
(843) 280-5673
dgbarnhill@nmb.us     Map Link

Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Travel Park – Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 20
Annie Cotten Schiffmacher
(843) 449-2733
ACotten@mbtravelpark.com     Map Link

Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation beach
Eileen Schweda
eileen.schweda@wyn.com     Map Link    

67th Ave. N. to 82nd Ave. N.
Mike Williams
Michael.Williams@hgtc.edu      Map Link

40th Ave. N. to 67th Ave. N.
Shari Carr
(843) 222-6998
sharoncarr@sccoast.net    Map Link

30th Ave. N. to 40th Ave. N.
Pat Pierce
sciencelady@earthlink.net      Map Link

Ocean Boulevard between 9th Ave N. and 12th ave N.
Jessica Hamlin
(843) 916-0888 ext. 3223
hamlin@ripleys.com    Map Link

Wyndham Ocean Boulevard beach
410 S. Ocean Blvd.
Heather Merritt
(843) 281-3318
Heather.Merritt2@wyn.com     Map Link

Waccamaw River – Peachtree Landing to Enterprise Landing
Chris and Jane Ochsenbein
(843) 503-3276
jcducati@msn.com    Map Link

Conway
Waccamaw River, Conway Waterfront and boat landings – 2 week cleanup initiative begins Sept. 16
Cara Schildtknecht or April O'Leary
(843) 349-4007
admin@winyahrivers.org     Map Link

Waccamaw River from Little Savannah Landing to Black Slough
Biff Johnson
(843) 742-0402
biffjohnson29@yahoo.com     Map Link

Surfside Beach

Debbie Ellis
(843) 913-6339  
dellis@surfsidebeach.org      Map Link

Georgetown County
Huntington Beach State Park
Mandi Di Bella
(843) 235-8755
hbeachedcenter@scprt.com       Map Link

Pawley's Island beach, creek, marsh, and boat landings
Frank Johnson
(843) 340-1717
fjohnson@wbtw.com      Map Link

DeBordieu Colony – Cleanup scheduled for Sept. 23
Blanche Brown
(843) 527-4436
bbrown@debordieucolony.org      Map Link

Sampit River, City of Georgetown
Morgan Park to Stewart Parker house
Cindy Thompson
(843) 545-4100
CThompson@cogsc.com     Map Link

Berkeley County
Various boat landings on Lake Moultrie
Sarah McCarthy-Smith
(843) 719-2383
sarah.smith@berkeleycountysc.gov     Map Link

Clouter Creek area around Daniel Island Marina
Sam Steinke
(434) 738-8985
ssteinke@danielislandmarina.com       Map Link

Dorchester County
Givhans Ferry State Park, Mars Oldfield boat landing, and Colleton State Park
Dave Are
david.c.are.ctr@mail.mil      Map Link

Isle of Palms
Stacey Johnson – email Stacey by Oct. 18 to RSVP
(843) 327-5831
staceysusanne@yahoo.com     Map Link

Sullivan's Island – Cleanup starts at 9:00 a.m.
Paula Ogden-Muse
paula_ogden-muse@nps.gov     Map Link
Volunteers must register at www.nps.gov/fosu/getinvolved/beach-sweep-2017.htm

Mt. Pleasant
Land-based cleanup on the Vickery's side of Shem Creek,
Mt. Pleasant Dock/ pier restroom area.
Hillary Repik or Charlie Hansen
(843) 856-2157
whansen@tompsc.com
hrepik@tompsc.com       Map Link

Water-based cleanup on Shem Creek
Nature Adventures
Elizabeth Anderegg
(843) 568-3222
nao@att.net      Map Link

Charleston
Waterfront Park
Edward Evans (843) 762-0625
edwardevans@knology.net      Map Link

Charleston-area Creeks, Rivers, and Marshes 
Marsh area just south of Ashley River bridge on HWY 17S
Pam Ferguson  (843) 792-6321
epidemiologydoc@hotmail.com
Jamie Gillette   (843) 579-7501  
GilletteJ@charleston-sc.gov
     Map Link

Charleston Harbor Islands – Cleanup scheduled for Nov. 18
Michelle Pate
(843) 953-9052
pates@dnr.sc.gov     Map Link

Upper Wando River, Horlbeck Creek to Little Cat Island
Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com     Map Link

Folly Island/Folly Beach – Cleanup time is 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
Syl Foster or Kelsey McClellan
(843) 953-2078
sylricka.foster@scseagrant.org
kelsey.mcclellan@scseagrant.org     Map Link

Kiawah Island
Bradley Schmoll
(843) 819-1071
bradley_schmoll@kiawahresort.com    
Map Link (Beach Sweep)       Map Link (River Sweep)

Harbor Island

Gloria and Charlie Mickle
(615) 414-6100 (Gloria)
gamickle90@gmail.com
(615) 268-3167 (Charlie)
cemickle@gmail.com       Map Link

Fripp Island
Jessica Miller
(843) 838-1516
jmiller@frippislandresort.com      Map link

Hilton Head Island
Mitchelville Beach Park and Fish Haul Creek
Kathy Weatherhead
(843) 342-3029
nkweatherhead@yahoo.com      Map Link

Folly Field Beach
Jennifer Wells
(843) 715-1025
islandgirl29926@ymail.com      Map Link

Burkes Beach
Carlos Chacon
(843) 689-3033 x226
cchacon@coastaldiscovery.org      Map Link

Coligny Beach
Phyllis Neville
(843) 681-3646
pnevs56@aol.com      Map Link

Beach near Sea Pines Resort
Jen Westerfeld
(843) 842-1979
jwesterfeld@seapines.com       Map Link

Daufuskie Island – cleanup scheduled for Oct. 14
Yvonne Clemons or Eileen Pojednic
yclemons60@gmail.com
erpojednic@aol.com      Map Link


Beach Sweep/River Sweep logo


Organized by:   SC Sea Grant, SC Dept. of Natural Resources, and Palmetto Pride logos

 


Last updated: 12/8/2017 12:57:41 PM
Beach Sweep / River Sweep

JUMP MENU

Page Tools Print this page
E-mail this page
Bookmark this page

Coastal Science Serving South Carolina
Copyright © 2001-2017 South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium
Turbulent Flow Image Courtesy of Prof. Haris J. Catrakis, University of California, Irvine
Privacy & Accessibility