ContactSite MapSearchNews
Inside Sea GrantResearchExtensionEducationFundingProductsEvents

SC Sea Grant Consortium
287 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
p: 843.953.2078
f: 843.953.2080
Beach Sweep / River Sweep
 

Beach Sweep/River Sweep logobsrs logo

Join us for the 26th annual
Beach Sweep/River Sweep
on Saturday, September 20, 2014.

2014 beach sweep tshirt designNew T-Shirt design for 2014 – order yours today!

Connect with us on Facebook. Facebook icon

See the SCDNR River Sweep Web site for more information on inland cleanups and results.

Beach Sweep/River Sweep is South Carolina's largest one-day volunteer cleanup event of its kind. Every 3rd Saturday in September, from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m., thousands of South Carolinians clear beaches, rivers, lakes, marshes, and swamps of aquatic debris. The cleanup, organized by the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium and S.C. Department of Natural Resources, has taken place annually since 1988 - when Sea Grant first started it. The Sweep takes place in conjunction with the International Coastal Cleanup, coordinated by the Ocean Conservancy. Once the Sweep is over, the Ocean Conservancy tallies all of the debris data. This data helps us learn the sources of litter so we can stop pollution before it starts.


Why pick up trash?

There's always going to be garbage, right? What difference does it make?

Aquatic debris is dangerous. Seeing the effects of it first-hand, by participating in the cleanup, can demonstrate that. Litter is a danger to our wildlife, our safety, and our economy.

South Carolina is lucky to have such a vast amount of wonderful aquatic resources. We are home to a diverse wildlife population. Our state's economy thrives on the tourism industry. However, if we don't care for our natural resources, they simply won't be there. Can you imagine a future in which your children or grandchildren won't be able to enjoy our beaches? Won't fish? Or boat? If we don't address the consequences of our throwaway, disposable lifestyle now, these grim possibilities could become our reality, experts tell us. Don't let it happen!


Sponsorship opportunities

It's never too early to get involved! The cleanup depends solely upon the generosity of its sponsors. The Sweep would not take place without contributions, whether in-kind or monetary. Major sponsors for the 2013 event include: Adventure Harbor Tours, BP Cooper River PlantCoastal Expeditions, Nature Adventure Outfitters, Ocean Conservancy, Starbucks Foundation, The Charleston City Marina and Boatyard, and Walmart Market #34. If you or your organization would like to sponsor this vital program, please contact Susan Ferris Hill, for details. Contributions to Beach Sweep/River Sweep may be tax-deductible. Thank you for your support!


Want to be a site captain?

Perhaps you know of an area that needs attention. Why not coordinate a cleanup for that site? Check the list of sites cleaned below, and remember that not all of the site may have received attention. If your place is not listed, we could use your help. It's not hard; we have site captains who have been with us since the very first cleanup! We provide all the supplies you need, detailed instructions and information, volunteers, publicity, and a free Beach Sweep/River Sweep t-shirt. Contact Beach Sweep, to learn how. There is no better feeling than knowing you've made a difference where it counts.

Have other ideas about how to help? Want more information?
E-mail Beach Sweep or call (843) 953-2078.


2014 site captains
If you know the area you'd like to clean, contact the site captain below and join their group! If you want to clean an area that's NOT LISTED BELOW, please call or email Susan Ferris Hill at (843) 953-2092. Thank you!

Lake Wylie - Cleanup Oct. 4
Ellen Goff
(704) 258-5904
eog9612@aol.com     Map Link

North Myrtle Beach
Gregg Barnhill
(843) 280-5673
dgbarnhill@nmb.us     Map Link

Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Travel Park
Katie Molter
(843) 449-2733
KMolter@mbtravelpark.com     Map Link

Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation beach
Lori Chilton
(843) 692-2011
lori.chilton@wyn.com     Map Link

67th Ave. N. to 82nd Ave. N.
Mike Williams
Michael.Williams@hgtc.edu      Map Link

40th Ave. N. to 67th Ave. N.
Shari Carr
(843) 222-6998
sharoncarr@sccoast.net    Map Link

30th Ave. N. to 40th Ave. N.
Pat Pierce
sciencelady@earthlink.net      Map Link

8th Ave. N. to 2nd Ave. N. beachfront
Amanda Sturgeon
(843) 267-4511
amanda.sturgeon@gmail.com      Map Link

Ocean Blvd. between cross streets of 9th Ave. N. and 12th Ave. N.
Todd Metz
(843) 916-0888 ext. 3223
tmetz@ripleys.com     Map Link

Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
410 S. Ocean Blvd. beachfront
Rosanna McDonald
(843) 281-3324
rosanna.mcdonald@wyn.com    Map Link

Withers Swash
Bruxanne E. Hein
(843) 333-2034
bruxanne@coastal.edu      Map Link

Myrtle Beach State Park
Ann Malys Wilson
(843) 238-0874 
awilson@scprt.com      Map Link

Socastee
Intracoastal Waterway, Rosewood Landing
Leigh Wood Kane
(843) 915-7034
woodL@horrycounty.org    Map Link

Waccamaw River, Peachtree landing
Chris and Jane Ochsenbein
(843) 503-3276
jcducati@msn.com    Map Link

Conway
Waccamaw River, Conway Waterfront and boat landings
Paula Reidhaar
(843) 349-4007
wrk@coastal.edu     Map Link

Waccamaw River from Little Savannah Landing to Black Slough
Biff Johnson
(843) 742-0402
biffjohnson29@yahoo.com     Map Link

Surfside Beach

Debbie Ellis
(843) 913-6339  
dellis@surfsidebeach.org      Map Link

Garden City
Garden City beaches
Bruxanne E. Hein
(843) 333-2034
bruxanne@coastal.edu     Map Link

Georgetown County
Murrells Inlet
Wacca Wache Landing and Crazy Sister Marina - Cleanup on Sept. 13
Renee Williamson
(843) 357-2007
info@murrellsinletsc.com     Map Link (Wacca Wache Landing)     Map Link (Crazy Sister Marina)

Huntington Beach State Park
Molly Wainscott
(843) 235-8755
huntingtonbeacheducation@scprt.com       Map Link

North Litchfield and Litchfield beaches - Cleanup on Sept. 6
John Charles
johnmcharlesjr@yahoo.com     Map Link

Pawley's Island beach, creek, marsh, and boat landings
Frank Johnson
(843) 340-1717
fjohnson@wbtw.com      Map Link

DeBordieu Colony - Cleanup on Sept. 27
Blanche Brown
(843) 527-4436
bbrown@debordieucolony.org      Map Link

Sampit River, City of Georgetown
Morgan Park to Stewart Parker house
Cindy Thompson
(843) 545-4100
CThompson@cogsc.com     Map Link

McClellanville
Jeremy Creek in the village - Cleanup on Sept. 13
Meet at Town Boat Landing
Cheves Leland
(843) 887-3404
hclhalcyon@tds.net      Map Link

Wambaw Creek Echaw 204 Bridge Landing
Kathie Livingston
(843) 697-2075
nao@att.net     Map Link

Berkeley County
Various boat landings on Lake Moultrie
Sarah McCarthy-Smith
(843) 719-2383
SMcCarthy-Smith@bcwsa.com     Map Link

Old Santee Canal Park / Biggin Creek
Mary Bell
(843) 761-8000 x 5216
mary.bell@santeecooper.com     Map Link  

Daniel Island shoreline
Wando River side from South of 526 on down
Andrea True Kelly
(919) 943-5023
atkgeneral@gmail.com     Map Link

Dorchester County
Jessen Boat Landing, Ashley River
Carolyn Tomlinson
(843) 832-0070
(843) 297-2829 (cell)
CTomlinson@dorchestercounty.net      Map Link

Givhans Ferry and Mars Oldfield landings, and Colleton State Park
Dave Are
david.are@us.army.mil     Map Link

Bull Island
-This area is full.
Coastal Expeditions
(843) 884-7684
cex@coastalexpeditions.com     Map Link  

Isle of Palms
Stacey Johnson
(843) 327-5831
staceysusanne@yahoo.com     Map Link

Cedar Creek
David Desplaces and Troop 15
DesplacesD@cofc.edu

Sullivan's Island
Olivia Williams
(843) 883-3123
olivia_williams@nps.gov     Map Link

Mt. Pleasant
Land-based cleanup on the Vickery's side of Shem Creek,
Mt. Pleasant Dock/ pier restroom area.
Hillary Repik and Brett Champion
(843) 856-2157
tchampion@tompsc.com
hrepik@tompsc.com       Map Link

Water-based cleanup on Shem Creek
Kathie Livingston
(843) 697-2075
nao@att.net      Map Link

Pickett Recreation Area (Old Pitt St. bridge)
Kent Prause
(843) 884-1229
kprause@tompsc.com    Map Link

Ben Sawyer Causeway
Dionna Ebeling
(843) 375-5462
cell (843) 870-4364
debeling@mpwonline.com     Map Link

Charleston
Waterfront Park
Edward Evans (843) 762-0625
edwardevans@knology.net      Map Link

Brittlebank Park
Nick Puchetti
(843) 452-2484
PUCHETTI_NICHOLAS@bah.com     Map Link

Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site
Jayson Sellers
(843) 852-4200
vsellers@scprt.com     Map Link

Charleston-area Creeks, Rivers, and Marshes

Marsh areas under Cosgrove Bridge
Jennifer Scales
(843) 579-7501  
scalesj@charleston-sc.gov     Map Link

Cooper River Marina
Sarah Giles
(843) 889-8898
sgiles@ccprc.com     Map Link

Marsh area under Harborview Rd. exit, James Island
Pam Ferguson
(843) 437-7513
epidemiologydoc@hotmail.com     Map Link

Ft. Johnson
Land-based cleanup
Dany Burgess and Michelle Pate
(843) 953-9087
burgessd@dnr.sc.gov
pates@dnr.sc.gov

Longbranch Creek
Land-based cleanup
Doug Thomas
(843) 224-5314
douglas.c.thomas@gmail.com     Map Link

Longbranch Creek out to Stono River
and marsh area behind Clemson Experimental Station
Clyde Umphlet
(843) 343-7074
LibertymarineSC@aol.com      Map Link

Upper Wando River, Horlbeck Creek to Little Cat Island
Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com     Map Link

Folly Island/Folly Beach
EV Bell
(843) 953-2078
(803) 397-8190 (cell)
elizabeth.vernon@scseagrant.org     Map Link

Mariner's Cay Racket and Yacht Club
Folly River and Marsh - Cleanup on Sept. 13
Howard Christiansen
(843) 670-8005
hrchristiansen@comcast.net      Map Link

Kiawah Island
Bradley Schmoll
(843) 819-1071
bradley_schmoll@kiawahresort.com     
Map Link (Beach Sweep)       Map Link (River Sweep)

Edisto River
Good Hope Landing, Long Creek Landing, Martin's Landing, and Westbank Landing
Marcus Sizemore
(803) 367-6222
msizemore2001@gmail.com      Map Link

Messervy Landing to Nature Adventures Outpost
Kathie Livingston
(843) 697-2075
nao@att.net      Map Link

Edisto Island / Edisto Island State Park / Botany Bay
Ida Tipton - FRESPACE
(843) 869-4422
Tiptonseachef@aol.com      Map Link

Beaufort County
Rail Trail cleanup in City of Beaufort
North Street to Robert Smalls Parkway
Julie Davis
(251) 533-1246
Julie.davis@scseagrant.org     Map Link

St. Helena Island
Lands End   
Bonnie Collins
bonniec452@aol.com      Map Link

Harbor Island

Gloria and Charlie Mickle
(615) 414-6100 (Gloria)
gamickle90@gmail.com
(615) 268-3167 (Charlie)
cemickle@gmail.com       Map Link

Hunting Island/Hunting Island State Park - Cleanup on Sept. 6
Vicki Anne Nestor
(843) 379-3389
vanestor@hargray.com      Map Link

Bluffton
May River at Oyster Factory Park
Beth Lewis
(843) 706-4559
blewis@townofbluffton.com      Map Link

Hilton Head Island
Mitchelville Beach Park and Fish Haul Creek
Kathy Weatherhead
(843) 342-3029
nkweatherhead@yahoo.com      Map Link

Port Royal Plantation beach
Roscoe Smith
(843) 423-2226
roscoe@verusmed.com     Map Link

Burke's Beach
Carlos Chacon
(843) 689-3033 x226
cchacon@coastaldiscovery.org      Map Link

Islander Beach
Phyllis Neville
(843) 681-3646
pnevs56@aol.com    Map Link

Beach near Sea Pines Resort
Jen Westerfeld
(843) 842-1979
jwesterfeld@seapines.com       Map Link

Daufuskie Island
Eileen Pojednic
(843) 842-6770
erpojednic@aol.com     Map Link

Beach Sweep/River Sweep logo


Organized by:   SC Sea Grant, SC Dept. of Natural Resources, and Palmetto Pride logos

 


Last updated: 9/18/2014 7:54:26 AM
Beach Sweep / River Sweep

JUMP MENU

Page Tools Print this page
E-mail this page
Bookmark this page

Coastal Science Serving South Carolina
Copyright © 2001-2014 South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium
Turbulent Flow Image Courtesy of Prof. Haris J. Catrakis, University of California, Irvine
Privacy & Accessibility