ContactSite MapSearchNews
Inside Sea GrantResearchExtensionEducationFundingProductsEvents

SC Sea Grant Consortium
287 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
p: 843.953.2078
f: 843.953.2080
Beach Sweep / River Sweep
 

Beach Sweep/River Sweep logobsrs logo

Thanks, site captains and volunteers,
for making the 25th annual Beach Sweep/
River Sweep a huge success!
Mark your calendars for the next
Sweep on Saturday, September 20, 2014.
beach sweep 25th logo

Visit us on Facebook. Facebook icon

New T-Shirt design – order yours today!

See the SCDNR River Sweep Web site for more information on inland cleanups and results.

Beach Sweep/River Sweep is South Carolina's largest one-day volunteer cleanup event of its kind. Every 3rd Saturday in September, from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m., thousands of South Carolinians clear beaches, rivers, lakes, marshes, and swamps of aquatic debris. The cleanup, organized by the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium and S.C. Department of Natural Resources, has taken place annually since 1988 - when Sea Grant first started it. The Sweep takes place in conjunction with the International Coastal Cleanup, coordinated by the Ocean Conservancy. Once the Sweep is over, the Ocean Conservancy tallies all of the debris data. This data helps us learn the sources of litter so we can stop pollution before it starts.


Why pick up trash?

There's always going to be garbage, right? What difference does it make?

Aquatic debris is dangerous. Seeing the effects of it first-hand, by participating in the cleanup, can demonstrate that. Litter is a danger to our wildlife, our safety, and our economy.

South Carolina is lucky to have such a vast amount of wonderful aquatic resources. We are home to a diverse wildlife population. Our state's economy thrives on the tourism industry. However, if we don't care for our natural resources, they simply won't be there. Can you imagine a future in which your children or grandchildren won't be able to enjoy our beaches? Won't fish? Or boat? If we don't address the consequences of our throwaway, disposable lifestyle now, these grim possibilities could become our reality, experts tell us. Don't let it happen!


Sponsorship opportunities

It's never too early to get involved! The cleanup depends solely upon the generosity of its sponsors. The Sweep would not take place without contributions, whether in-kind or monetary. Major sponsors for the 2013 event include: BP Cooper River PlantCoastal Expeditions, Lowcountry Cruises, Miller-Maginn Family Fund of Coastal Community Foundation of S.C., Nature Adventures Outfitters, Ocean Conservancy, The Charleston City Marina and Boatyard, The Duke Energy Foundation and Walmart Market #34. If you or your organization would like to sponsor this vital program, please contact Susan Ferris Hill, for details. Contributions to Beach Sweep/River Sweep may be tax-deductible. Thank you for your support!


Want to be a site captain?

Perhaps you know of an area that needs attention. Why not coordinate a cleanup for that site? Check the list of sites cleaned below, and remember that not all of the site may have received attention. If your place is not listed, we could use your help. It's not hard; we have site captains who have been with us since the very first cleanup! We provide all the supplies you need, detailed instructions and information, volunteers, publicity, and a free Beach Sweep/River Sweep t-shirt. Contact Beach Sweep, to learn how. There is no better feeling than knowing you've made a difference where it counts.

Have other ideas about how to help? Want more information?
E-mail Beach Sweep or call (843) 953-2078.


2013 site captains
If you know the area you'd like to clean, contact the site captain below and join their group! If you want to clean an area that's NOT LISTED BELOW, please call or email Susan Ferris Hill at (843) 953-2092. Thank you!

North Myrtle Beach

Gregg Barnhill
(843) 280-5673
dgbarnhill@nmb.us     Map Link

Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Main Street to 6th Ave. S.
Linda Bureau
(843) 281-3322
linda.bureau@wyn.com      Map Link

Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation beach
Lori Chilton
(843) 692-2011
lori.chilton@wyn.com     Map Link

67th Ave. N. to 78th Ave. N.
Mike Williams
Michael.Williams@hgtc.edu      Map Link

31st Ave. N. to 45th Ave. N.
Pat Pierce
sciencelady@earthlink.net      Map Link

8th Ave. N. to 2nd Ave. N.
Amanda Sturgeon
(843) 267-4511
amanda.sturgeon@gmail.com      Map Link

Ocean Blvd. between cross streets of 9th Ave. N. and 12th Ave. N.
Michelle Ruthenberg
(843) 916-0888
mruthenberg@ripleys.com      Map Link

15th Ave. S. to 29th Ave. S. and Withers Swash
Bruxanne E. Hein
(843) 333-2034
bruxanne@coastal.edu      Map Link

Myrtle Beach State Park
Ann Malys Wilson
(843) 238-0874 
awilson@scprt.com      Map Link

Conway
Waccamaw River, Conway Waterfront and boat landings
Christine Ellis and Kelly Davis
(843) 349-4007
wrk@coastal.edu     Map Link

Pitch Landing
Waccamaw River and 38th Avenue
Shari Carr
(843) 222-6998
sharoncarr@sccoast.net     Map Link

Waccamaw River from Little Savannah Landing to Black Slough
Biff Johnson
(843) 742-0402
biffjohnson29@yahoo.com     Map Link:

Surfside Beach

Debbie Ellis
(843) 913-6339  
dellis@surfsidebeach.org      Map Link

Garden City
Garden City beaches
Bruxanne E. Hein
(843) 333-2034
bruxanne@coastal.edu     Map Link

Georgetown County
Murrells Inlet
Wacca Wache Landing and Crazy Sister Marina
Sue Sledz
(843) 357-2007
info@murrellsinletsc.com
Map Link for Wacca Wache Landing       Map Link for Crazy Sister Marina

Georgetown county line and continuing South
Meet at intersection of Waccamaw and Yucca Drive
Heather Tenney
(843) 839-8082
heather@ccarsc.org     Map Link 

Huntington Beach State Park
Mike Walker
(843) 235-8755
mwalker@scprt.com      Map Link

Pawley’s Island Beach, creek, and marsh
Frank Johnson
(843) 340-1717
pijohnson@sc.rr.com      Map Link

DeBordieu Colony
Blanche Brown
(843) 527-4436
bbrown@debordieucolony.org      Map Link

Black Mingo Creek, Cowhead Landing
Phyllis Jordan or Beverly Owens
(843) 546-0562
pojordan@frontier.com     Map Link

Sampit River, City of Georgetown
Morgan Park to Stewart Parker house
Cindy Thompson
(843) 545-4100
CThompson@cogsc.com     Map Link

McClellanville
Jeremy Creek in the village – Cleanup starts at 10:00 a.m.
Meet at Town Boat Landing
Cheves Leland
(843) 887-3404
hclhalcyon@tds.net      Map Link

Wambaw Creek Echaw 204 Bridge Landing
Kathie Livingston
(843) 697-2075
nao@att.net     Map Link

Berkeley County
Various boat landings on Lake Moultrie
Stacy Harris
(843) 572-4400
(843) 719-2676     Map Link

Old Santee Canal Park / Biggin Creek
Mary Bell
(843) 761-8000 x 5216
mary.bell@santeecooper.com     Map Link  

Daniel Island shoreline
Wando River side from South of 526 on down
Andrea True Kelly
(919) 943-5023
atkgeneral@gmail.com     Map Link

Dorchester County
Jessen Boat Landing, Ashley River
Carolyn Tomlinson
(843) 832-0070
(843) 297-2829 (cell)
CTomlinson@dorchestercounty.net      Map Link

Givhans Ferry and Mars Oldfield landings
Dave Are
david.are@us.army.mil     Map Link

Bull Island
—This area is full.
Coastal Expeditions
(843) 884-7684
cex@coastalexpeditions.com     Map Link  

Isle of Palms
Stacey Johnson
(843) 327-5831
staceysusanne@yahoo.com     Map Link

Sullivan’s Island
Olivia Williams
(843) 883-3123 x50
olivia_williams@nps.gov     Map Link

Mt. Pleasant
Land-based cleanup on the Vickery's side of Shem Creek,
down Mill Street, towards the boat landing.
Hillary Repik and Brett Champion
(843) 856-2157
hrepik@tompsc.com       Map Link

Water-based cleanup on Shem Creek
Kathie Livingston
(843) 697-2075
nao@att.net      Map Link

Pickett Recreation Area (Old Pitt St. bridge)
Kent Prause
(843) 884-1229
kprause@tompsc.com    Map Link

Ben Sawyer Causeway
Dionna Ebeling
(843) 375-5462
cell (843) 870-4364
debeling@mpwonline.com     Map Link

Charleston
Waterfront Park
Edward Evans (843) 762-0625
edwardevans@knology.net      Map Link

Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site
Jayson Sellers
(843) 852-4200
vsellers@scprt.com     Map Link

Charleston-area Creeks, Rivers, and Marshes

Marsh areas under Cosgrove Bridge – Cleanup starts at 2:00 p.m.
Jennifer Scales
(843) 579-7501  
scalesj@charleston-sc.gov     Map Link

Marsh area under Harborview Rd. exit, James Island
Pam Ferguson
(843) 437-7513
epidemiologydoc@hotmail.com     Map Link

Longbranch Creek
Land-based cleanup
Doug Thomas
(843) 224-5314
douglas.c.thomas@gmail.com     Map Link

Longbranch Creek out to Stono River
and marsh area behind Clemson Experimental Station
Clyde Umphlet
(843) 343-7074
LibertymarineSC@aol.com      Map Link

Upper Wando River to Horlbeck Creek – 526 bridge to 41 bridge
Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com      Map Link

Folly Island/Folly Beach
Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 5
Marty Morganello
(843) 343-7790
mmorganello@bellsouth.net     Map Link

Mariner's Cay Racket and Yacht Club
Cleanup scheduled for Sept. 28
Howard Christiansen
(843) 670-8005
hrchristiansen@comcast.net      Map Link

Kiawah Island
Bradley Schmoll
(843) 819-1071
bradley_schmoll@kiawahresort.com     
Map Link (Beach Sweep)       Map Link (River Sweep)

Edisto River
Good Hope Landing, Long Creek Landing, Martin's Landing, and Westbank Landing
Marcus Sizemore
(803) 367-6222
msizemore2001@gmail.com      Map Link

Messervy Landing to Nature Adventures Outpost
Kathie Livingston
(843) 697-2075
nao@att.net      Map Link

Edisto Island / Edisto Island State Park
Ida Tipton - FRESPACE
(843) 869-4422
Tiptonseachef@aol.com      Map Link

Beaufort County
Beaufort County boat landings, Beaufort River, May River
Carol Murphy and Beth Lewis
(843) 255-2734
cmurphy@bcgov.net      Map Link

Rail Trail cleanup in City of Beaufort
North Street to Robert Smalls Parkway
Julie Davis
(251) 533-1246
Julie.davis@scseagrant.org     Map Link

St. Helena Island
Lands End   
Bonnie Collins
bonniec452@aol.com      Map Link

Coffin Point Plantation beach
Ann and Jason Williamson
(843) 271-3220
jessupsmom@gmail.com     Map Link

Harbor Island

Fran Nolan
(843) 838-4878
frannolan@embarqmail.com      Map Link

Hunting Island/Hunting Island State Park
Cleanup scheduled for Sept. 14 at 10:00 a.m.
Vicki Anne Nestor
(843) 379-3389
vanestor@hargray.com      Map Link

Fripp Island
Mallory Dailey and Tim Price
(843) 838-1516
recreation@frippislandresort.com      Map Link

Bluffton
May River at Oyster Factory Park
Kim Jones
(843) 706-4593
kjones@townofbluffton.com      Map Link

Bluffton Beach
Bluffton Beach
Phyllis Neville
(843) 681-3646
pnevs56@aol.com      Map Link

Hilton Head Island
Mitchelville Beach and Fish Haul Creek
Kathy Weatherhead
(843) 342-3029
nkweatherhead@yahoo.com      Map Link

Driessen Beach Park
Lou Ann Kelly
(843) 645-2585
lkelly@hargray.com      Map Link

Burke’s Beach
Carlos Chacon
(843) 689-3033 x226
cchacon@coastaldiscovery.org      Map Link

Coligny Beach
Phyllis Neville
(843) 681-3646
pnevs56@aol.com    Map Link

South Forest beach
Debbi Albanese
(843) 422-6405
albanese.debbi@yahoo.com     Map Link

Beach near Westin Resort and Spa
Justin Neuhart
(843) 681-1058
Justin.neuhart@westin.com      Map Link

Beach near Sea Pines Resort
Rob Bender
(843) 842-1951
rbender@seapines.com      Map Link

Daufuskie Island
Cleanup scheduled for Sept. 28
Eileen Pojednic
(843) 842-6770
erpojednic@aol.com     Map Link

Beach Sweep/River Sweep logo


Organized by:   SC Sea Grant, SC Dept. of Natural Resources, and Palmetto Pride logos


Last updated: 3/28/2014 4:05:30 PM
Beach Sweep / River Sweep

JUMP MENU

Page Tools Print this page
E-mail this page
Bookmark this page

Coastal Science Serving South Carolina
Copyright © 2001-2014 South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium
Turbulent Flow Image Courtesy of Prof. Haris J. Catrakis, University of California, Irvine
Privacy & Accessibility